Our leadership team is made up of a minister, deacons, treasurer, secretary and youth worker who are subject to the authority of the Church meeting where we believe that the Holy Spirit guides all decisions of the Church who come together to discern the Lord’s guidance and purpose. The deacons all have role descriptions to enable them to have clarity in their responsibilities and to allow the congregation to see who they should contact. The diaconate fairly reflects the broad range of ages that attend our Church.

Ministry Team

Stuart McPhail - Pastor

Responsibilities: Sunday Service, Adult and Family Outreach, Investing in Leaders, Prayer and Working Group.

Stuart and Katharine were called to Hill Cliffe from Gerrard Street Church in Aberdeen, where Stuart served as Executive Pastor and they both led outreach and pastoral ministries. God has called them to Hill Cliffe to help lead the church in pursuing God's revolutionary calling for His People and His gracious mission to a broken world.

Stuart, Katharine, Harry and Helena moved to Hill Cliffe in August 2012.


John Harper - Youth Worker

Responsibilities: Children and Youth - Discipleship and Outreach

John is originally from Belfast, N. Ireland and has been married to Amy since 2006. For 3 years he ran a community youth work centre for St. Mary's Church on the Wirral. John and Amy then set up some youth work for BMS in Paris in 2006 followed by a further project with Latin Link in Bolivia in 2007. John is a full time youth worker for the church and is finishing off a Theology and Youth Work degree in his spare time... when he's not playing for Warrington Ambassadors F.C or watching Liverpool!



Who are the Deacons and what is the Diaconate?

Deacons are elected by church members and are responsible for several key functions in the church:

  • display a leadership role,
  • encourage and facilitate growth (spiritual and numerical),
  • administer all sections of church life,
  • listen and respond to the needs of the church fellowship,
  • support the pastor

Elections for the role of Deacon are usually held annually in November. There can be up to nine Deacons at any one time.

The Diaconate is made up of the Pastor, Deacons, Secretary and Treasurer.

The Diaconate meets twice a month to pray and discuss issues affecting our life together at Hill Cliffe.

In order to be effective and efficient each Deacon usually has particular areas of responsibility. They act as team leaders, administer and take a special interest in that area of church life.

The Deacons are available should you wish to discuss any aspect of Church life. Please feel free to contact any of the Deacons who will be only too willing to listen.

For any further information, please speak to Steve Gray, Secretary.

Steve Gray

Responsibilities: Church Secretary and Working Group.

Steve’s role as church secretary encompasses many facets of church life including: leadership and co-ordinating responsibilities; point of contact for church members and outside; and general administration. In his day job Steve is a partner at a local solicitors firm.


Doug Fairbrother

Responsibilities: Church Treasurer

I am a retired shift manager from ICI at Runcorn. I spent all my working life there, and retired in 1998. My wife and i went to live in Zakynthos in Greece for 12 years and it was here that we really found the lord. We were Baptised and joined a small baptist church where i became treasurer.

We moved back to Warrington in 2011 and i became a member of Hill Cliffe.
I sing and play drums now and again with the praise bands, and both my wife and i enjoy life in the fellowship of the church.


Tim Grainger - Deacon

Responsibilities: Sunday Services

Tim co-ordinates the music ministry at church, is married to Jenny and father to Violet. Outside of church, Tim is a local solicitor and long-suffering fan of Liverpool Football Club.

Joseph Martin - Deacon

Responsibilities: Fellowship Groups

Joe is a married to Sarla and dad to two young children, George and Grace. In his day job Joe is an airline pilot.

Joy Cowpar - Deacon

Responsibilities: Prayer and Pastoral Support

Joy is retired, widowed and works as a volunteer with two charities. As a newly elected deacon she is involved in pastoral care and prayer ministries.

Peter Hindley - Deacon

Responsibilities: Property

Peter is in his second term as worship deacon and works alongside Jess, co-ordinating musicians, sound and power point. He has been married to Irene for 44 years and works as a transport manager for a haulage company. (Looking forward to his retirement).

David Holmes - Deacon

Responsibilities: Working Group and Adult & Family Discipleship

Role on diaconate – to give input and oversight in the area of the Mission of the church.
Married to Doreen. We have 3 married sons and 4 grandchildren.
Taught science for 12 years. Then worked in the Middle East for 12 years – initially teaching and later in production of Arabic language Christian films.
Now run my own business as a financial adviser and also have a continuing involvement with Middle East Christian Outreach.

Ruth Hughes - Deacon

Responsibilities: Cummunication

Ruth was elected to the Diaconate in November 2010. The areas she is responsible for are administation and the office as well as assisting Jon Curtis with the fabric issues. Ruth is a part time laboratory manager and full time wife to Chris and mum to Isabella.

Mary Evans - Deacon

Responsibilities: World Mission

Mary came back to the NorthWest in 2011 after spending many years teaching Biblical Studies mostly in London but for 3 years in Ethiopia. Her main commitment, outside of the church, is now writing, with occasional trips back to teach modules in Addis Ababa in Ethiopia.

Steve Kent - Deacon

Responsibilities: Pastoral Support

Keith Curtis - Deacon

Responsibilities: Working Group

Other Roles

Jennie Gray - Junior Church Leader

Responsibilities: Children and Youth - Discipleship and Outreach

Jennie is a ‘stay at home’ mum. She is involved with the organisation and leading of the children’s work on a Sunday morning.

LeadershipOfMinistriesA3.pdf263.3 KB